October 5, 2010

Des Moines Water Works Board of Trustees

The Des Moines Water Works (DMWW) has been providing potable water to Des Moines citizens since 1871.  In 1919, the private water company became a publicly owned utility, governed by a Board of Trustees.

Appointed by the Mayor, and subject to approval by the City Council, the five-member board is responsible for overseeing the Utility by establishing policies, authorizing contracts, approving annual operating and capital budgets, and performing duties required by law.

Meetings of the Board of Trustees are conducted monthly and are open to the public, unless authorized to be closed in accordance with state law. A majority vote by the board is necessary to pass any motion or take any action. Additionally, meetings of the board planning and finance and audit committees are conducted monthly.  Each meeting includes a public comment period. Agendas, supporting documentation, minutes and audio recordings of the meetings are posted on DMWW’s website.  Videos of the monthly Board meetings can be viewed on Channel 7 on Thursday evenings at 8:30 p.m.

Current Board members are Robert G. Riley, Jr., Chairperson; David A. Carlson, Vice Chairperson; Mary C. Gottschalk; James M. Grant; and Susan R. Huppert.  Their bios are posted on DMWW’s web site.

If you have any questions for our board of trustees, please leave them in the comments section.

Posted by: Pat Ripley No Comments
Labels: , , Posted in About Us, Board of Trustees, History

Leave a Reply